Our People

Rabbi Avi Pekier

Head of School

Rabbi Avi Pekier has joined Torah Day School after more than two decades working in elementary and high school.  Coming from Milwaukee, Rabbi Pekier has more than a decade of teaching 6 – 8th grade, and has taught at all levels of high school at WITS Yeshiva.

Rabbi Pekier is a passionate believer in doing whatever it takes to help a student succeed, and has initiated many programs to help bring excitement to the school environment.

Chana Ruderman, Ph.D.

Principal

Dr. Ruderman has been involved in the administration of TDSD since the school’s opening in 2003, serving as Academic Dean until 2017 when she became its Principal. She earned her doctoral degree from the University of Chicago’s interdisciplinary Committee on Social Thought, specializing in English literature. Dr. Ruderman also has a master’s degree in Education from the University of North Texas, specializing in gifted and talented instruction and in student assessment. She holds a B.A. Magna Cum Laude in history from Carleton College. Dr. Ruderman has published a book on the novels of Jane Austen, and a contribution to an anthology on literature and politics. Previous to TDSD, she taught at Colgate University, Cornell University, Yavneh Academy and Akiba Academy and has worked as a curriculum consultant.

Mrs. Becky Udman

Preschool Director

Becky Udman has been the Preschool Director at TDSD since 2006, and previously taught Pre-Kindergarten classes at Torah Day School. After her first teaching positions in New York and Baltimore, Mrs. Udman taught for 12 years in the preschool program at Akiba Academy in Dallas before joining TDSD. As a certified “Love and Logic” instructor, she teaches classes and presents workshops to teachers and parents around the country on the subject of discipline and parenting. Mrs. Udman completed a seminary program at Bnos Torah in Jerusalem and studied at Stern College in New York.

Shelly Gammieri, CFRE

Director of Development

Mrs. Gammieri brings more than twenty years experience in the non-profit world, including thirteen specializing in strategic advancement for K-12 schools. She has served in multiple roles in the Dallas Jewish community, including time working for the Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas and other communal organizations. Mrs. Gammieri earned her internationally recognized Certified Fundraising Executive designation in 2019 and continues to uphold the highest standards of ethics and best practices in fundraising. Mrs. Gammieri holds a Bachelor of Arts in Music degree from the University of North Texas.

For information about our preschool program and faculty, please visit our Preschool page or contact Becky Udman at budman@tdsd.org.

Kindergarten


Melissa Evans, General Studies
mevans@tdsd.org



Chana Blitz, Judaic Studies
cblitz@tdsd.org



Chaya Feigenbaum, Judaic Studies
cfeigenbaum@tdsd.org


Grade 1


Raizy Muller, General Studies (Boys)
rmuller@tdsd.org


Rabbi Binyomin Stolov, Judaic Studies (Boys)
bstolov@tdsd.org



Devorah Kalfon, General Studies (Girls)
dkalfon@tdsd.org



Yochana Fried, Judaic Studies (Girls)
yfried@tdsd.org


Grade 2


Rochel Leah Taitel, Judaic Studies (Girls)
rtaitel@tdsd.org


Malkie Ozeri, Science and Social Studies
mozeri@tdsd.org



Aliza Rodin, Math 
arodin@tdsd.org


Rabbi Stolov, Judaic Studies (Boys)
bstolov@tdsd.org



Rachelle Kuchinsky, Language Arts
rkuchinsky@tdsd.org


Grade 3


Chanale Kalmenson, Language Arts
ckalmenson@tdsd.org



Racheli Niman, Math
rniman@tdsd.org



Rabbi Ziemba, Judaic Studies (Boys)
mziemba@tdsd.org



Shari Brown, Science
sbrown@tdsd.org



Aliza Pekier, Judaic Studies (Girls)
aliza.pekier@tdsd.org


Grade 4


Emily Unger, General Studies
eunger@tdsd.org




Laya Senft, Judaic Studies (Girls)
lsenft@tdsd.org



Rabbi Ziemba, Judaic Studies (Boys)
mziemba@tdsd.org


Grade 5


Racheli Niman, Math (Girls)
rniman@tdsd.org


Rabbi Shraga Senft, Judaic Studies – Gemara (Boys)
ssenft@tdsd.org



Yana Ravitz, Language Arts
yravitz@tdsd.org



Temima Winston, Math (Girls)
twinston@tdsd.org


Shani Fox, Judaic Studies (Girls)
sfox@tdsd.org


Shari Brown, Science
sbrown@tdsd.org


Orly Fass, Jocial Studies 
afass@tdsd.org



Rabbi Aaron Shmuel Wealcatch, Judaic Studies (Boys)
awealcatch@tdsd.org



Aliza Rodin, Math (Boys)
arodin@tdsd.org



Rabbi Mordechai Shmueli, Judaic Studies (Boys)
mshmueli@tdsd.org


Specialties


Malkie Ozeri, Art
1st-5th Boys and Girls
mozeri@tdsd.org



Devorah Ziemba, Physical Education
1st-5th Girls
dziemba@tdsd.org



Ozzie Denson, Physical Education
1st-5th Boys
odenson@tdsd.org


Math


Osnat Goldman
6th/7th Boys, 7th/8th Girls
ogoldman@tdsd.org



Rabbi Shmueli
8th Boys
mshmueli@tdsd.org


Language Arts


Rachel Adlerstein
7th/8th Girls, 7th/8th Boys
radlerstein@tdsd.org


STEM!


Aimee Wortendyke
6th/7th/8th Boys & Girls
awortendyke@tdsd.org


History


Yana Ravitz
7th/8th Girls
yravitz@tdsd.org



Orly Fass
7th/8th Boys
ofass@tdsd.org


Judaic Studies (Boys)


Rabbi Goldschmidt
8th Boys
ygoldschmidt@tdsd.org



Rabbi Senft
6th/7th/8th Boys
ssenft@tdsd.org



Rabbi Wealcatch
7th Boys
awealcatch@tdsd.org



Rabbi Shmueli
6th Boys
mshmueli@tdsd.org


Judaic Studies (Girls)


Aliza Shmueli, Chumash
6th/7th/8th Girls
ashmueli@tdsd.org



Aliza Shmueli, Parsha
7th/8th Girls
ashmueli@tdsd.org



Mrs. Shimon, Ivrit (Hebrew)
6th/7th/8th Girls
oshimon@tdsd.org


Aliza Shmueli, Navi
7th Girls
ashmueli@tdsd.org




Batya Epstein, Yahadus
6th/7th/8th Girls
bepstein@tdsd.org


Batya Epstein, Parsha
6th Girls
bepstein@tdsd.org



Specialties


Malkie OzeriArt
6th/7th/8th Girls
mozeri@tdsd.org



Becky UdmanPhysical Education
6th/7th/8th Girls
budman@tdsd.org



Ozzie Denson
6th/7th/8th Boys
odenson@tdsd.org


Educational Secretaries


Zlati Krycer
zkrycer@tdsd.org



Chedva Sarna
csarna@tdsd.org



Dani Kabins
frontdesk@tdsd.org


Administrative Support


Jason Luque – Controller
jluque@tdsd.org



Natalie Morgan – Admissions Officer
nmorgan@tdsd.org


The Board of Trustees is a group of parents and non-parents who volunteer a wide variety of experience and skillsets in support of the school’s educational mission and administrative needs.

The Board’s primary areas of responsibility include:

  • Oversight of the school’s financial assets and real property
  • Hiring and setting/evaluating performance objectives of the Headmaster
  • Approval of the school’s annual budget
  • Approval of the tuition schedule

Current membership as of 2019-2020 includes:

  • Salomon Banarer (President)
  • Steven Rosson (Vice President)
  • Toby Grossman (Secretary)
  • Shachar Gargir (Treasurer)
  • Rabbi Yehudah Abrams
  • Joshua Quinn
  • Sarah Sagal

To contact the Board, please email board@tdsd.org.